Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 6:58 pm GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Battery Bank Size for 3k system with XW6048 Xantrex Inverter
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:58 pm GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Ok, I am new to this, so please be gentle. We just had eighteen Sharp 208 watt panels installed, tied to a Xantrex XW MPPT60-150 Charge Controller, powering a XW6048 inverter. We tied in four Deka 8A4D, 12 volt, 200 amp-hour, sealed batteries in series. So it looks like a 6 kW inverter with about 3 kW of solar input, using a 200 amp hour battery bank. We are thinking about adding another array next year, depending on rebates, Colorado REA doesn’t give much (a maximum of $9,000 on a 3 kw system or larger).

I’ve been reading information on battery bank size on the web, and came across a posting by Solar Guppy saying that 400 amp hours of batteries was minimum for a XW6048 inverter, and that using a smaller bank causes oscillations and non optimal tracking. I do notice the battery voltage and current fluctuating on our system, as well as seeing the power output given on the inverter display always oscillating up and down every few seconds. Is this a “fault” you described that is caused by the small battery bank?