Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:30 pm GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fault Detected Codes
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:56 am GMT ErdGMT 
Hello, i'm running fishbowl with my suntie. my datalog shows one of two errors for every data entry.
1) fault detected code 128
2) fault detected code 192

what are these and where do i find the fault detected references?
thanks,
brian


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 10:08 am GMT ErdGMT 
Offline
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 1:01 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 1158
Location: Lakeland Florida
Hi Brian,

Those are not vaild fault codes

Is this a Suntie ST/XR or XR-UPG

You can tell on powerup , the LCD displays the firmware rev , 3.2 and lower is old Suntie , 5.0 is XR-UPG

\:D/ The most common cause of this is NOT using an opto isolator and noise on the comm line causes data error's and bogus data.

You will also notice other data fields have odd values as well


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 11:47 am GMT ErdGMT 
Thanks for the feedback. i'm at work now, so i'll check the version later. i thought it was a suntie st/xr, but i didn't know about the other suffix model you listed. i just got the unit about 3 weeks ago, if that tells you anything. is this a just a firmware upgrade? do you recommend an upgrade? actually, i'm sure there are plenty of posts about this i could read. what does that mean 'not valid fault codes'? if your program sees gibberish from noise, are random fault codes generated? i am using an optoisolator, and yes, some of the other data fields seem to be bogus as you suspected. the dc kwatts column shows a much larger number than what is really being generated. i'm not sure, but i think i only see this in the log file and not on the gui interface? is this possible? would i see the same bogus data on the gui if i watched it for every sample? thanks for all the help.
brian


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 12:31 pm GMT ErdGMT 
Offline
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 1:01 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 1158
Location: Lakeland Florida
Sounds like yuo have an old XR , and the comm line has noise

The Old ST/XR has/had no means for validating the data stream and any noise on the line will flip a bit here and there, FishBowl does check for in range in some of the parameters , but there really isn't much else it can do.

The UPG is VERY different , hardware and software changes , sending it to the factory for update would be your only option and YES , I recommend the upgrade , 30%+ improvement in power yeilds in partly cloudy weather , 10-15% in all other conditions

Where is the opto located ? , if it's not close to the inverter , that can be the problem in picking up noise


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 1:43 pm GMT ErdGMT 
i do have the UPG turns out. the isolator is right at the inverter. maybe an rc filter before the isolator? i opened up the isolator, and there is no filtering. so if there is a valid glitch from noise or whatever, it's going to be transmitted on the wire. maybe a common mode choke on the input to the isolator or something? any advice is appreciated. thanks again.
brian


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000 - 2020 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO

© SGT 2002 - 2020 Solar Guppy