Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:37 pm GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: grounding panels in an rv
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 8:53 pm GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Hi, I'm brand new to the solar world and this discussion board. I will be installing a 42w Uni-solar panel with a Morningstar 10L charge controller. I'll be mounting the panel on the roof rack of a slide-in camper but will fasten it so that it can easily be removed to set up on the ground (that way I can move the panel and battery being charged into the sun and not have to camp in the full sun). My question relative to grounding the panel - do I ground the panel to the truck frame when it's mounted on the roof and do I need to ground the panel to the ground when it's sitting away from the truck, mounted on it's yet to be designed and built mounting frame. Any tips/advice would be appreciated.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:59 pm GMT EthGMT 
Catfish
Catfish

You would need to ground to the RV frame. I do not own an RV but myself with a moble panel such as you are planing I would not ground it at all. Check out this link, they do not use a ground wire other than to the battery. http://www.rverscorner.com/solar/solar.html.

Post subject: grounding the frame of the pv
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:01 am GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Thanx for the info. Is grounding the frame of the pv solely for lightning protection?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:37 am GMT EthGMT 
Catfish
Catfish

Quote:
Thanx for the info. Is grounding the frame of the pv solely for lightning protection?