Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Sun Jun 23, 2024 8:04 pm GMT ErdGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:31 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 1:01 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 1159
Location: Lakeland Florida
I checked the code, there is a timeout enable to the FTP transfer client so not sure what your seeing


try enabling the FTP debug feature and next time it hangs, report back what phase of the transfer its stuck at ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using Go-Daddy
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:51 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Guppy
Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:24 am GMT EthGMT
Posts: 284
Location: Los Angeles
kb4ffe wrote:
GT-view hung up on me yesterday afternoon. The file is 0 bytes, and the FTP program is still trying to write a day later.



I've see this happening at 2 other locations:
http://members.cox.net/wennfred/GTVIEW/ ... n_Save.png
usually recovers in several hours, somehow
and
http://energy-alternatives.com/GTview/G ... n_Save.png

What happens, is the transfer seems to begin, the remote file is zeroed somehow, and no real .png upload happens.
I have links to these monitors on my 2nd page, and it's real easy to see when one goes down. I've tried to force a d/l of the image, but it's zero bytes, not a missing image, just an empty file. If it was actually gone, I'd expect a broken link browser error, not a image can't be displayed error.

http://www.mike-burgess.org/PVinfo_2.html

--

"The faulty premise is that privacy is about hiding a wrong."
Bruce Schneier


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 3:20 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Guppy
Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:47 am GMT EthGMT
Posts: 102
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Yep, I have been having alot of problems with that so what I do is I go onto the FTP site and delete the PNG file hoping the next one is upload and corrected. If it has the Zero bites, it wont work.

I rebooted the computer, deleted the Zero Byte PNG file and Im still uploading a PNG file with no info, what can I do next?



Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT-View trouble shooting hints
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:39 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Guppy
Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:24 am GMT EthGMT
Posts: 284
Location: Los Angeles
Another thing I've noticed, is the uploaded .PNG file on the server, sometimes has a "weird" name : GT_Screen_Save.png?1187282131076 and I don't know if the server is adding the ?1187282131076 to the filename, or the browser does it. The #'s are different, and I haven't found a pattern.

_________________
"Since the dawn of time it has been mankind's dream to blot out the sun"
Montgomery Burns


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Results of Stuck program
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 6:10 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:50 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 9
Location: brooktondale, ny
So, I got back home and enabled the FTP Debug screen to see what was going on.

the right screen locked up (I have two instances of GT-view running on the same machine) first, and here is the output.

http://solar.johnjan.com/stuck_xfer_right_display.PNG

so, I opened up my FTP client, and tried to look at my GoDaddy webhost directory, and I was locked out. It said that I could not log in while another process was logging in. (I used SmartFTP as my client).

I wonder if this lock-up behaviour is only happening to people running more than one instance of GT-view at a time, and the two are trying to log in simultaneously to write their file.

To test this, I stopped both of my GTview instances. I have the programs in separate directories (gtview\left, and gtview\right). I started the \left program first. I edited the FTP upload interval to exactly 300 seconds. Then I waited for an upload to occur. Once the upload happened, I waited 2 minutes, and started the "right" instance of GTview, and set it to a 300 second interval. I figured this would give each program a chance to log in, upload, and log out before the next instance tried. :idea:

It's been running for over 24 hours without a hang-up. I suppose I will have to write a batch program to autostart these two instances delayed by 150 seconds on reboot. Today, I use autologin, and the two shortcuts are simply in my STARTUP directory. I had them originally set to upload every 589 seconds on left, and 610 seconds on the right. But this offset alllowed random occasions when they both uploaded at once.

I will let you know if it hangs up again.... I am crossing my fingers that it's fixed.

John

_________________
John Reed
Brooktondale, NY
Sunpower SPRx4000 x 2, Sunpower 220w x 36


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I guess that was not the problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:22 am GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 8:50 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 9
Location: brooktondale, ny
It hung up at 12:32am last night, (or that is the time-stamp of the zero byte file on the godaddy webhost server.)

So, the offset between the two uploads did not keep the hang from occuring. :(

My next effort, is to stop using the PNG upload, and just write an excel macro to summarize the daily log file, and post a graph of that to the web every 30 minutes or so.

John

_________________
John Reed
Brooktondale, NY
Sunpower SPRx4000 x 2, Sunpower 220w x 36


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:21 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Guppy
Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:47 am GMT EthGMT
Posts: 102
Location: San Diego, Ca.
I cant get GView #2 to post the PNG file any more. All else failed.


Fred


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:17 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 1:01 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 1159
Location: Lakeland Florida
sorry to hear some of you are having issues,

I have a single old 500mhz pc monitoring 3 GT inverters. I have three copies of GT-View running each in ther own folder uploading to godaddy without issue

Couple of things I do, I have the interval different so I don't get the concurrent login issue, I have the file names of the png files different and on my display script, I cache the pngs so if an internet user happen to displaying the image there isn't a lock conflict, IE an update to an actively displayed image. Also if there is a conflict, instead of just keeping a broken ping image displayed, the script will retry in one second ( instead of the 120 seconds ) to update the image

The script is here http://www.solar-guppy.com/realtime_status.htm

Here is an example of how to prefetch :

<title>Woodwind Hills Solar Status</title>
<script language="JavaScript">


function prefetch_pool() {

cached_image_pool = new Image();
cached_image_pool.scr = "http://www.solar-guppy.com/downloads/FishBowl_Current_Pool.png";
setTimeout("swap_pool()",5000);
}

function swap_pool() {

document.fishbowl_pic_pool.src = cached_image_pool.scr;

}

function woops_pool() {

prefetch_pool();
}

</script>
</head>

<body topmargin="0" leftmargin="0">

<img name="fishbowl_pic_pool" src="http://www.solar-guppy.com/downloads/FishBowl_Current_Pool.png" onError="setTimeout('woops_pool()',100);" onLoad="setTimeout('prefetch_pool()',120000);" width="557" height="185">

</body>
</html>

Also, if you want to make the status window a fixed size, call it from another html file ( like your main index file ) like so


<Script Language="JavaScript">
function openwindowlink() {
newwin = window.open("http://www.solar-guppy.com/realtime_status.htm","Solar","height=555,width=557,location=0,menubar=0,resizable=0,scrollbars=0,status=0,titlebar=0,toolbar=0")
}

<font face="Verdana">Real Time Status</font></b> of our dual 2900 watt arrays via GT-View
<a href="JavaScript:openwindowlink()">REAL TIME STATUS</a> *, </p>


Last edited by Solar Guppy on Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:27 pm GMT EthGMT, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:20 pm GMT EthGMT 
Offline
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 1:01 am GMT EndGMT
Posts: 1159
Location: Lakeland Florida
Wennfred wrote:
Yep, I have been having alot of problems with that so what I do is I go onto the FTP site and delete the PNG file hoping the next one is upload and corrected. If it has the Zero bites, it wont work.

I rebooted the computer, deleted the Zero Byte PNG file and Im still uploading a PNG file with no info, what can I do next?



Fred


Did you chmod 777 the file on the server before deleting? ... or try a new file name ... could be something odd is locking the file on the server


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000 - 2020 phpBB Group

phpBB SEO

© SGT 2002 - 2020 Solar Guppy