Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:32 am GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: FTP problem, related to new router?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:59 am GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Hello, I have been using SG-View without trouble for several months. A few days ago, I switched our old USR router for a new Belkin one. For some reason, I think it's affected the upload of the daily logs with SG-View, they have failed three days in a row now. And the image upload for the png files is also not working a lot of the time.

I can FTP just fine from my desktop using Filezilla. So I suspect it's some interaction effect between the new router's security settings, and the way SG-View invokes FTP? But when regular FTP with Filezilla works, I don't understand exactly what would be different about SG-View.

Here is a transcript of the log when attempting to upload a png:

FTP_MESSAGES
Transfer complete
Disconnecting.
Disconnected.
Sending file failed
Attempting to connect
Resolving hostname ftp.yourturn.ca.
Connecting to 69.90.72.37.
Connected.
Connection established
Sending Changedir command
Set mode to binary
Sending upload command
Starting FTP transfer
Transfer complete
Disconnecting.
Disconnected.
Sending file failed
Attempting to connect
Resolving hostname ftp.yourturn.ca.

And so on, it's like that over and over. When the log files fail to go, there is no trace of them on the server, no zero byte files, nothing.

I'm wondering if the router is preventing SG-View from answering an ident request that the server is making? (port 113?) Or maybe a standard ping? But again, Filezilla works, so really, I'm just taking wild guesses at this point. The router is quite secure though, it locks up everything by default quite well. If that is the issue, then the question is what to open up?