Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Sat Apr 20, 2024 11:14 am GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: STXR-2500 questions
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:20 am GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

I just bought a house that had an existing PV system using a STXR-2500, manufacture date April 2002, probably been in service since early 2003 when the house was built. I haven't observed it closely, but on avg it seems to generate about 6-10 kwh per day (panels are angled about 30 degrees to the west, so not ideal placement). I don't know what the expected output is, I'm new to solar.

The inverter unit makes a fairly loud rumbling noise while generating, which I assumed was the cooling fan. I opened it up to clean out the dust and check the fan, and it seems to spin freely and smoothly. It could still be a fan problem, but I thought I'd ask if it's normal for the unit to make noise?

Is there any way to get more data to show on the LCD so I can tell if everything is working properly? Currently it only shows kwh output for the day. I did read about fishbowl, but it sounds like I'd need to track down an opto isolator to be able use that.

Also, I'm wondering if I should just replace this inverter rather than futz around with it? From reading other threads here, it sounds like few STXR units are still in service, and there might be the possibility of getting a discounted upgrade through a loyalty program? I would appreciate any info or advice about that.

Thanks

Post subject: Re: STXR-2500 questions
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:04 am GMT EthGMT 
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy

If your LCD only show kwh than its an older unit that didn't get the updates in 2003, which do make a difference in harvest. In very general terms, take the name plate wattage of the PV on the roof and multiply by 4 for a sunny day and that is a ballpark what you should see for kwh for the day.