Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:56 am GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Checking the panels
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:21 am GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

I am new to the solar arena and I would appreciate someone informing me as to how to check a panel to see if it generating the proper amount of power.
Thanks
Dave

Post subject: Checking Solar panels
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:45 am GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

I'm also looking for a good way to check my panels. I have 90 BP Solar MST-50's hooked up to 3 STXR-UPG's ( 2-1500, 1-2500). I've noticed the 2-1500's always show about 100 watts less than the 2500 unit. Aslo when the local power company came out to do their annual check, they indicated a couple of strings were reading less than the others. I have 5 panels per array, 6 arrays per inverter. Can I use a clamp on amp meter to measure each panel, or do I need to disconnect the panel from the array to make the measurement.

It's raining here today in Tucson, but there shoud be some sun tomorrow for me to make some measurements.

Thanks
Kendall

Post subject: Re: Checking Solar panels
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 2:03 pm GMT EthGMT 
Guppy
Guppy

If you have a clamp-on DC amp meter, that would work. Most clamp-ons are AC only though.

You need to shade the strings, or use the master disconnect, to kill the current flow. If there are amps flowing, removeing a wire, to connect an inline ampmeter, will generate a nice welding arc. so:
disconnect current flow
wire in ampmeter
re-establish current flow & measure for 5 min (as panels change temp, the current may change)
Check each string for amps this way.
If no strings are in parallel, you can readily check voltages while panels are under load.

I am not an electrician. Any wires you melt are still yours. Your mileage may vary. contents may settle while shipping. Batteries not included. Superman cape does not enable wearer to fly.