Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:56 am GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New guy needs your suggestions (wind, solar+battery bank)
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:06 pm GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Hi,, this is my first time posting, I'm pretty new to this solar and wind, I will make it short, 1st, My Battery bank is 2964 Amp-Hour,12 volt system, I got 245 watt PV (3X15 watt panels = 45 watt) from Harbor freight plus 2X100 watt homemade panels made from old windows and broken cells from ebay, and a homemade wind turbine made from 2 back to back Ametek 38 volt motors, on a 34 feet homemade tilt tower, our wind here in San Antonio, Texas is about 7 MPH in a normal day turbine will generate about 6 -12 volts (amp is yet unknown)My battery bank is connected to 3000 watt inverter, that I have 1 computer + fax machine (100 watts ) which is on 10 hours a day, and a small TV, 40 watt, is on about 4 hours a day.
My wind turbine is connected direct to battery bank, PV’s are connected with a Xantrex C60 charge controller to the bank. I have diodes in positive lines of PV’s and wind turbine.
Now my problem, Looks like it that I don’t have enough charging power for everyday use. What am I doing wrong?
These last couple of days I'm charging the battery bank with 50 amp battery charger, to keep them all charged.
All suggestions are welcome
I got pictures too if would help
Thanks in advance

Post subject: Re: New guy needs your suggestions (wind, solar+battery bank)
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:41 pm GMT EthGMT 
Guppy
Guppy

You are charging with about 1000W for the day
Sources
Solar derate hours
245 0.8 196 6 1176

you are consuming about 2000 watts for the day
Loads
TV
40 4 160

PC/Fax
100 10 1000

inverter
100 10 1000