Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:15 pm GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: SB 6000U: SPR-6000m inverter sizing with Sun Power Panels
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:00 pm GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

Hi everyone...

I'm having a PV system installed on my house soon, consisting of 30 Sunpower SPR-225-blk panels and a Sunpower SPR-6000m inverter. I have a few questions about the inverter.

1) is the 6000m inverter big enough for my setup? I'm thinking it's not, but the installer says otherwise. Comments?

2) Sunpower is beta-testing a monitoring system with an in-home monitor and an on-line monitor with real-time data. I think Sunpower inverters are basically rebranded Xantrex inverters....do I have any good monitoring options from the start, or do I have to wait for Sunpower to come out with their own setup?

I'm a total noob at all this, so use small words when you reply!! ;)

Thanks in advance!

JimmyD

Post subject: Re: Sunpower SPR-6000m
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:21 pm GMT EthGMT 
Guppy
Guppy

JD,

To size your system, you need to know your loads... Since this is an existing home(?) you can start with your last year or two's utility bills. And, you need to know how your local utility will be billing you with Grid Tied Solar (flat rate, TOU, 1 year net metering, 1 month net metering, differential rates between the power you buy and what you sell back, etc.).

A 6kW grid tie system is not small--but if you use a lot of power for A/C, it is certainly within the realm of a reasonable system.

Basic questions:

1. How much power do you use, per month, per year in kWhrs.
2. Where do yo live (nearest large city with similar weather as yours).
3. Are the panels facing south, and tilted to your lattitude?
4. Any shading (shading--should be none between 9am-3pm at least, winter/summer)
5. Utility company/rate plan/rates
6. Any other issues (not south facing, split East/West, etc.).