Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 9:04 am GMT EstGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Sizing Your System -- Actual PV Output
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2002 12:10 am GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

As a solar designer, I like to produce solid designs for my clients. Therefore, an important point is to recognize that manufacturers overstate the output of their panels. The rated output is measured under STC (standard test conditions), which is in an ideal laboratory setting. The State of California instituted its own output measurements under more realistic conditions. These are known as PTC (PVUSA test conditions) ratings. So, for example, a 150W STC panel is actually more likely to have an output of 131W PTC.

Caveat emptor.

Additionally, depending on your location, you may need to further derate your panel's performance due to ambient conditions. A 15% derating of PTC is not unheard of.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2002 4:11 pm GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

Solar Mo,

Is there a database somewhere of the PTC ratings of many panels? Alternately, can you provide some sort of link or URL so I can do a little research on it?

I want to design a PV system for my home, but since shipping things to Guatemala is expensive and with things like import duties when shipping internationally, getting it right the first time is rather important. [img]images/smiles/icon_smile.gif[/img]

Thanks!

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:47 pm GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

Hey thanks, that EcoBusiness site is great.

"If you're going with Si panels..." Is there another choice in PV? I pretty much thought all PV cells were silicon-based.

G'night,

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 12:59 am GMT EstGMT 
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy

PTC is just 85% of STC

if your going with Si panels .. there all pretty much the same. I use Kyocera and have been pleased with the panels as are two other Large installed systems (48 and 72 panels)