Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 8:56 pm GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Xantrex: Grid Tie with battery backup (Xantrex) GT3
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:38 pm GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Hello:

I'm totally new in the solar world!. I want to build a system that have battery bank, PV and is grid tie. (Generator added)

Which Inverters would you recommend? that has good stability and efficiency. I was evaluating the GT3, which I think is a tremendous product, but then I noticed that is only for a PV system, correct me if I'm wrong. If not can I add a battery bank to it?. I'm also looking a the SW4048W, the other constraint is that I want it to be 220V AC 60 Hz and have a good comunication port to attach a computer. What you will think is the best multifunction Inverter?.

Thanks in advance

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 11:24 pm GMT EthGMT 
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy

There is no 240 volt battery based inverters, for 240volt you need two 120volt ones that are synced via a cable

Your other option is to uses a 120 to 240 transformer , works OK for smaller loads but you lose efficency and on being load have to have a wopper of a transformer to handle the VA

The SW series is proven with 8 years behind it , the Outback is a good performer, but not quite the power handling on a single unit basis and in my experiance run very hot if you don't have the vented model.

If your not in a super rush , there will be more choices in the near future that should be better than both those solutions both in cost and efficency

Post subject: Grid Tie with battery backup (Xantrex) GT3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 2:13 pm GMT EthGMT 
Fish Eggs
Fish Eggs

Thanks Solar Guppy!