Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 11:48 am GMT ErdGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Xantrex: SW4048 with low output
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 2:04 am GMT EthGMT 
Although I just installed my own PV system, I'm new to the PV systems and I think I have a few problems I hope someone can help me out with.

I live in Austin, TX (about 30.5 degrees longitude) with 16 Kyocera KC158 panels (2.5kW worth) installed on my 30 degree pitched roof. I use the inverter in sell mode and have the modules wired in series in 4 sets of four. I have 8 brand new MK sealed gel batteries (8G27).

It has been extremely pleasant here the past week the system has been running, i.e. 78-80 degrees light breeze and not a cloud in the sky. The most I've been able to get out of this system is 11 Amps AC according to the inverter. I checked the DC output with an Amprobe and the max DC amperage is 27.4 (which is in-line with what the inverter says).

I've played around with the float voltage and the sell voltage in menus 10 and 17 respectively and it does indeed make a difference in the max amperage output. I initially set the float (& sell) to 49 volts thinking more juice for the grid that way. At that time I was only able to get 7 amps DC out of my system. I was also told to do set the float voltage low by a friend that has an identical inverter, but different panels. On his system on the same days he was getting close to 21 amps DC.

Since I noticed the higher voltage yielded a higher power output, I've been thinking ways to get the voltage higher at the panels.

I have tested all of the panels individually, each array, and all together and on these nice days I'm getting 107 to 109 open circuit voltage. When under a load the panel voltage becomes exactly (really close) to what the inverter is set to. I get these same numbers at the J-box on the roof and at the DC disconnect.