Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 7:56 am GMT ErdGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Xantrex: The SW series also has efficiency problems
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2002 6:31 pm GMT EthGMT 
Catfish
Catfish

I know that the Guppy has entitled this as a Xantrex thread with a SunTie preface, but there's no good place for a Trace SW discussion (yet), so here goes :

I've been netmetering with a Trace SW4048 for 17 months now, and have suspected their efficiency ratings on the inverter weren't worth spit. One year ago I replaced Trace's C60 clamping charge controller with RVPower charge controllers with MPPT, and have added 10-15% average efficiency on the DC side over the Trace C60 controller. However, this gain in efficiency is thrown away by the averaged cumulative 73% efficiency achieved by the Trace SW inverter. This rating was factored in while the backup batteries were switched out.
I live in Silicon Valley, which typically enjoys year round weather very friendly to solar generation (no big Florida clouds except for the winter months). Though I do not have exhaustive metrics (or time) like the Guppy has, it was clear from the start that even a Trace SW inverter, supposedly the "workhorse" of Xantrex's product line, was having problems living up to their propaganda.
I am not alone in my ***essment of the SW series. Discussions with a small number of contractors in my area reveal that they too have seen & measured performance in the 60-70% range on the SW inverter's they've installed.
To summarize and augment :
1) It appears that Xantrex not only has problems with their inverters with integral MPPT but also with their basic inverting products. Perhaps some or the majority of the ST inefficiencies lie in the inverter and not the MPPT.