Solar Guppy - All Things Solar Forum

It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 6:38 am GMT EthGMT

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Panel Wiring Advice Wanted
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:35 pm GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow

I am new in this solar power PV world. I can't seem to find a consistant answer to this question.

The FACTS:

Off Grid Garage
48v Battery Bank (4x2 SBS C11s)
MX-60 Charge Controller, 72' from the panels.
4 Matrix PW1650-165 panels (12v or 24v)
Dallas TX (10 days below freezing average)

The QUESTION:

Which would be the better wiring solution --
A - 2 in series x 2 parallel at 24v each
B - 4 in series at 12v each
C - 4 in series at 24v each
or
D - It ain't going to matter

Thanks in advance for any experienced advice,

Glenn

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 12:44 am GMT EthGMT 
Red Cobra Delta Guppy
Red Cobra Delta Guppy

Quote:
Which would be the better wiring solution --
A - 2 in series x 2 parallel at 24v each
B - 4 in series at 12v each
C - 4 in series at 24v each
or
D - It ain't going to matter

A) would allow the smallest wire size , lowest cost and lowest losses , this assumes 4 total wires home runned , two strings , each with there own wires

B) would have less total wire , but need more expensive larger wire , only two wires , 4 in a single string

C) No can do , you will exceed the maximum input on the MX-60

D) Then why ask :P

using the Homepower wire spreadsheet , you can use 12 wire on option "A" with 1.5% wire losses , a 500 ft roll is 30 bucks at Home depot , 10 gauge , is 1% , I think thats 42 dollars roll at Home depot and would be my choice , both can sneak into 3/4" conduit

"B" would require 6 wire to be under 1% losses , thats about 100 bucks 500ft roll and the conduit size bumps up ... don't try pulling 6AWG thru smaller than 1" conduit ...

So as you can see is a balance of cost (wire and conduit) vs losses.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2004 10:28 am GMT EthGMT 
Minnow
Minnow